Mother Nature’s Daughter

Some days the river is too powerful…

the walls cannot hold the storm of tears before they overflow. 

Some days the attraction is too great…

my soles are pulled to the green, to kiss the grass,

to feel the warmth of the sun upon my face. 

Some days my heart beats to guitar strings dancing around me…

my mind longs to find comfort in her vibrations,

my mouth longs to taste the sweetness of her notes.

Some days the weight becomes too heavy…

I let all of the obligations of this world fall away; 

I follow my spirit back home, back to myself,

back to the quiet of my Soul;

back to the calm of mother nature’s canopy,

where dragonflies welcome me with a tickle upon my naked toes,

where my mother whispers in her cooling breath…

Welcome home, child, how I’ve missed you.

On those days I sit in my heaven’s peace

knowing that I am and always will be…

Mother Nature’s daughter. 

One thought on “Mother Nature’s Daughter

Leave a comment